

NORTH AMERICAN ENERGY STANDARDS BOARD 1301 Fannin, Suite 2350 Houston, Texas 77002 713-356-0060/Fax 713-356-0067

Contact: S. Lawrence Paulson Cheryl W. Hoffman (301) 779-6863 Fax (301) 779-9263 For Immediate Release Monday, August 9, 2004

NAESB Annual Meeting Marks 10 Years of Setting Standards For Energy Industry; Federal, State Regulators Highlight Program

AUSTIN, Texas – Federal and state energy regulators will be in the spotlight at the Third Annual Meeting of the North American Energy Standards Board (NAESB), to be held Sept. 14–15 at the historic Driskill Hotel.

The meeting marks the tenth year that NAESB and its predecessor organization, the Gas Industry Standards Board (GISB), have been developing business practice standards for the energy industry. This year's meeting program will present a comprehensive picture of today's energy marketplace and the directions it's likely to take in the future.

Two of the most popular features of last year's meeting, panels featuring state regulatory commissioners and former FERC commissioners, will be back this year. A new panel of executives from ISO's, RTO's and other regional reliability organizations will discuss their evolving role in the marketplace. Pat Wood III, chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) will address the meeting by videotape. Chief counsel for energy and the environment for the U.S. House Energy and Commerce Committee, Mark Menezes, will provide a Washington legislative update.

Industry interdependencies and homeland security will be the topic of D. Scott Parsons' presentation. Parsons is the Deputy Assistant Secretary at the U.S. Department of Treasury's Office of Critical Infrastructure Protection and Compliance Policy.

The U.S. Department of Energy will be represented by William Parks, Jr., acting director, Office of Energy Transmission and Distribution.

Former FERC commissioners slated to speak include:

• Branko Terzic, managing director, energy research group, Deloitte & Touche, commissioner, 1990–1993;

• Jim Hoecker, partner, Swidler Berlin Shereff Friedman LLP, commissioner 1993–1997, chair 1997–2001;

• Vicky Bailey, partner, Johnston & Associates, commissioner 1993–2000;

 Linda Breathitt, senior energy and regulatory consultant, Thelen Reid & Priest LLP, commissioner 1997–2002; and

• William Massey, partner, Covington & Burling, commissioner 1994–2004.

The panel will be moderated by Sheila Hollis from Duane Morris LLP and will compare current policies and trends with those of previous eras.

A panel is state commissioners that will address a broad range of topics will be moderated by Howard Shafferman from Ballard Spahr Andrews & Ingersoll LLP. Confirmed state regulatory speakers include:

- Denise Bode, chair, Oklahoma Corporation Commission.
- Sandra Hochstetter, chair, Arkansas Public Service Commission.
- James Kerr II, chair, North Carolina Utilities Commission.
- Marc Spitzer, chair, Arizona Corporation Commission.

• W. Robert Keating, commissioner, Massachusetts Department of Telecommunications and Energy.

• Carl Wood, commissioner, California Public Utility Commission.

Barry Smitherman, commissioner, Public Utility Commission of Texas, will open the meeting and welcome everyone to Austin.

A panel of regional transmission organization and independent system operator executives will discuss regional differences and ways to improve the efficiency and reliability of the electric industry. Panelists are:

• William Museler, president and CEO, New York ISO.

- Ronald Nunnally, chair, Western Electricity Coordinating Council.
- Jim Torgerson, president and CEO, Midwest ISO.
- Nick Brown, president and CEO, Southwest Power Pool

The panel will be moderated by former Texas Public Utility Commission Chair, and former Deputy Assistant Secretary, Robert Gee of The Gee Strategies Group.

Among the financial experts on the annual meeting roster is Neal Wolkoff, former executive vice president and COO of the New York Mercantile Exchange, who will speak at the annual meeting dinner on Tuesday, Sept. 14.

A panel of financial analysts will provide Wall Street's view of changes in the energy marketplace. They include Christine Tezak, principal, Schwab Soundview Capital Markets; Donato Eassey, former lead natural gas analyst, Merrill Lynch Securities Research; and Richard Rudden, president, RJ Rudden Associates.

A panel will explore issues of electricity and natural gas pricing reliability and market liquidity recently raised by the FERC and CFTC. Panelists include:

- Barbara Mariner-Volpe, U.S. Energy Information Administration.
- Larry Foster, chief editor, *Inside FERC*.
- Ellen Beswick, editor and publisher, Natural Gas Intelligence.

The luncheon speaker on Wednesday, Sept. 15, will be Ken Malloy, founder and CEO, Center for the Advancement of Energy Markets.

Donna Bobbish of Chadbourne & Parke LLP will moderate a panel on natural gas interchangeability, a topic that has drawn significant attention nationally and at NAESB. Scheduled to participate are:

• Donald Santa, president, Interstate Natural Gas Association of America.

• Joel Moxley, vice president, GulfTerra Energy Partners, representing the Gas Processors Association.

• Rick Smead, director, regulatory and fuels resources group, energy practice, Navigant Consulting Inc.

• Massachusetts Commissioner Keating.

The program will also feature a state of NAESB report from Board of Directors Chairman Michael Desselle and Executive Committee Chairman Jim Buccigross. NAESB's Board of Directors will meet on Thursday morning, Sept. 16.

NAESB, formed in January 2002, is an independent and voluntary North American organization that develops and promotes the use of business practices and electronic communications standards for the wholesale and retail natural gas and electricity industries.

NAESB is the successor to and is modeled after the Gas Industry Standards Board, which was established in 1994 and now constitutes the wholesale gas quadrant of NAESB. NAESB's members include over 400 companies and organizations that participate actively in the retail and wholesale natural gas and electricity markets.

A program, registration form, and other details can be found at: http://www.naesb.org/annmtg.asp.